HL Championship Day on Sat Apr 9, News (Northumberland Minor Hockey)

News Article
News Article Image
Apr 18, 2022 | Shannon Drumm | 1288 views
HL Championship Day on Sat Apr 9
House League 2021/22 season wrapped up last Sat!

On Saturday April 9 all of our House League players hit the ice to battle it out for the Division Championships at the CCC-Pond or at Jack Burger.  Several of the final games were tight battles. Hotdogs and drinks were given out to all the players and coaches followed by the awards outside of the Pond ice.

Many thanks to all of our outstanding convenors, coaches and trainers who helped to make our House League season a fun and successful one.  We thank all the players for showing up every week, you help to make our minor hockey program a success year after year.  

Congratulations to all our award nominees and award recipients.
Below are the recipients of the 2021/22 awards:
U5/U6 Hustler of the Year
Emmett Stanley
Clara Gilmour
Ella Voycey
Everett Skinner
Myles Gillford
Jack Murphy

U8 Hustler of the Year
Avery Thickson
Caden Dahle
Brett Clarke
Cavan Tiexelra

U9 Hustler of the Year
Carter Gilmour
Theodore Munday
Ryan Latchford
Emily Krentz

U10/11 Awards
Best Forward: Ben Leimaster
Best Defenseman: Cole Voycey
Most Sportsmanlike: Evan Blakely
Best Goalie: Nick Riccio
Most Improved: Wyatt Colley
Most Dedicated: Gavin Battersby

U12/13 Awards:
Best Forward: Wesley Brouwer
Best Defenseman: Cameron Taylor
Best Goalie: Olan England
Most Improved: Liam Wright
Most Dedicated: Michael Urbach

U14/15 Awards
Best Forward: Ben St. Jean
Best Defenseman: Nolan Trumble
Most Sportsmanlike: Ben Bagshaw
Best Goalie: Andrew Pickering
Most Improved: Aaron Hickman
Most Dedicated: Alex Mokros

U21 Awards:
Best Forward: Colby Metcalfe
Best Defenseman: Hayden Howe
Most Sportsmanlike: Patrick Hannigan
Most Improved: Veronika Mokros
Most Dedicated: Brendan James

Ron Smith - Most Improved U13 and below: Nico Parks 
Josh Macquire Top Forward U13 and below: Crosby Mercer
Shane O'Brien Top Defenseman U13 and below: Grant Appleman 
Dan Stewart Top Goalie U13 and below: Marshal Beaver

Dennis O'Brien Most Improved U14 and up: Avery Speksnijder
Gord Brooks Top Forward U14 and Up: Colton McCurdy
Steve Smith Top Defenseman U14 and Up: Ben Forbes
Brian Rose Top Goalie U14 and Up: Ethan Fuller

Alex Rutherford Spirit of the Game: Evan Garrard
Cormac Kerin Select Spirit of the Game: Jacob North


Behan Construction Limited
SPONSOR OF THE U16 AA TEAM FOR THE 2023-24 SEASON. Behan Construction Limited, a Cobourg, Ontario based construction company, was founded in 1960 and continues to be an industry leader in sewer, watermain, road construction, and site development.
Cobourg Spine & Sports Injury Clinic
Sponsor of the U11A team for the 2023/24 Season
Central Park Recycling Solutions
Sponsor of the U12A team for the 2023/24 Season
South 50 Farms
Sponsor of the U9MD team for the 2023/24 Season
Little Buck
Sponsor of the U8MD team for the 2023/24 season